Skip to content

The Best Man – Michelle Lee

ML3

Synopsis
Those eyes, those lips, that body. Kassidy Marshall has always been that perfect picture of cool, calm and in control. Always in control — until she meets the best man, Ryan Davis (or as his friends call him, just Davis).
Now she feels anything but in control, and she can’t stop the dreams she keeps having of him. She finds him extremely attractive, but also extremely frustrating.
Will she be able to resist him or will she fall for The Best Man?
He can only hope….
Author Bio

Michelle Lee lives in the heart of Nascar Country in Concord, North Carolina with her husband and daughter.  When she’s not busy working, her days are filled with hanging out with her family and friends, reading,  drinking Starbucks, shopping (lots and lots of shopping), and religiously watching the Food Network.

You can find Michelle on GoodreadsTwitter, and Facebook.

Excerpt
For some odd reason, I just stand there paralyzed; it is as if my feet are encased in concrete. I feel my breathing accelerate as I gaze into his eyes. The room is spinning, and I am mesmerized. Until now, I really hadn’t looked this closely at Davis. Sure, I have noticed previously that he is as hot as fuck, but something is different tonight.
I hear my inner self clapping uncontrollably.
I am staring, and he just stares back in complete silence. I am pulled closer to him, but not by his arms or hands, but simply by his presence. I feel as though I am a moth, and he is the flame. Two magnets being pulled to each other.
Ashley’s 4 Star Review
I thought this was a cute idea for a story, and one that I was sure was bound for disaster. I was right…unfortunately for the main character, Kassidy. I initially related to Kassidy, especially her career-driven nature. Her inner voice chiding her along was initially funny and sometimes  exasperating and a bit quirky. About one-third of the way through the book, I was begging the inner voice to shut up. For me, the inner voice became more annoying than a productive manner to “show” Kassidy’s insecurities, as the way Kassidy acted was more than enough to make you feel awkward right along with her. This was the only part of the book I didn’t care for. I thought Davis was like-able enough initially; my admiration for him grew as Kassidy’s did, which I think is due to good writing. The best friends were two girls I felt like I could also be best friends with. I felt myself being drawn into the story with each passing chapter. The plot moved along fast enough that I didn’t get bored but not so fast that I felt like I was missing anything. At times, the writing was so real, it felt as if I was in the same room watching this unfold between the main characters.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to others. It was a good, easy read – definitely perfect for a relaxing day snuggled under a blanket on the couch or laying on a blanket on the beach.
Buy Links
Amazon      Amazon UK      Goodreads

Post by Dr. Ashley Hampton

Leave a Reply

